Extremely Blessed

Last night on the way home from a birthday party, we hit a deer. Not exactly the way I had planned to spend my journey home. . . I was so sad. 1, I hate to see things die. 2, we just put a lot of money into our little mini van to get it running right.  We’re still not sure if it’s fixable or not. So it might actually be totaled. . . I was upset. Really upset. Not so much that we hit a deer but that God let it happen. I mean we just got the thing running again, we were dreaming dreams, and BLAM. There’s a deer. There go all your hopes and dreams. (Drama Queen, I know, but that’s what it felt like) We were both scared to invest money into the van because we were afraid as soon as we did something would happen. Well looky there, it did. I was not feeling very happy.  Money doesn’t grow on trees, ya know.

I was wandering around my house in a rather dazed and angry state. When all of a sudden it hit me that I was being absolutely ridiculous. If the van is totaled, we lost X amount of money. But that was extremely small when compared with our lives. People have hit deer and ended up in the hospital, and in some cases have died. We were alive. We didn’t hurt anyone else in the accident. Nobody got hurt at all in fact.  My daughter did not seem traumatized by the situation, she just thought we should ‘shoot’ the deer. She didn’t have a melt down or anything. Our van got damaged and may not even be anymore but my sweet little family is all ok. God’s hand was there in that accident. Keeping us safe.  It could have been so much worse.

I am extremely blessed and ridiculously loved.

IMG_1677IMG_1678IMG_1679IMG_1680

^Left overs of Mr or Mrs Deer, there was quite a bit more there last night but it was removed by this morning. OUCH is all I can think.

Leave a Reply

