. . .

Against my better judgement, within the last week I have read through three facebook debates. They get so ugly. We get so busy justifying ourselves and condemning everyone else.

When the explosion occurs…. The dust settles… Some people cry. Some people chuckle with glee. The sad thing is each of these debates were between people who call themselves Christians. They weren’t pretty. Quite frankly, it was hard to hear/see Jesus amist all that name calling, verbal attacking, and critiscm.

I love discussions. I don’t think everyone has to agree on everything. I love diversity.  I hate senseless verbal attacks.

I think a lot of us think that our pain justifies our hurting others. Because this person or people group mistreated me, I can talk nasty about them and be nasty towards them. Eventually, we see everyone as a threat. We react instead of respond.

I was thinking about all this earlier this week and the scene at the cross came to mind. The one where Jesus is hanging on the cross, dying… People are making fun of him, figuring out who gets his clothes, they have beaten him… Utterly ravaged him. He doesn’t look out at these people and chuckle self righteously to himself about how they are going to end up in Hell if they don’t straighten up, he doesn’t holler insults back, he doesn’t try to prove how right he is and how wrong they are. He says, “Father, please forgive them. They don’t realize what they’re doing. ” I was driving into my parents driveway when this hit me. It hit me hard. I almost came to a complete stop and started bawling but I kinda pushed it aside and went on with my day. But it’s been there all week. “Father, forgive them, they don’t know what they’re doing.” It wasn’t simply a name calling, or a ‘judgement’ that they made about it. It was more than that. Jesus LOVED them with a love so deep we cannot begin to describe it. They beat him, they insulted him, they stripped him, they hung him on a tree. He was carrying their sin on His back, He came to rescue them. This is ultimate rejection, y’all. An ultimate horrible judgement call. And what does He do?? He still loves them, He asks GOD TO FORGIVE THEM!!! How can this be?!?!?

Here I sit hanging on to hurts. I mean, really, did you HEAR what she said about me?!?!? Did you hear the criticism he laid down about me? Did you see how they led me astray? They think they’re so right. . .

And then there’s Jesus, on the cross forgiving the people who caused him pain I can only imagine. . .

Leave a Reply

